Via Alpina

The Via Alpina

Welcome to he Via Alpina: a network of 5 walking trails across the eight countries of the Alpine region, more than 5000km long and with 342 day stages to discover cultural and natural heritage of the Alps.

The Alps

The biggest european green space, alpinism birthplace, sanctuary for native plants and animals. It is also a territory with an extremely rich heritage marked by cultural exchanges.

The Via Alpina

The Via Alpina is an innovating european project launched in 2000 by the height alpine countries to highlight their heritage and share their experience beyond the borders.

All along the routes you will find the Via Alpina logoes and you will often see stopping places, valley lodgings adapted to long-distance walking.

The Via alpina crosses 8 countries: France, Monaco, Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Germany, Austria and Slovenia.

The stages in the Upper Ubaye

R133 : Ceillac >> Maljasset
Walking time 5h30'   |  Distance 11,90 km   |   Difference in height + 1060 m    |   Difference in height - 1080 m

R134 : Maljasset >> Chiappera
Walking time 4h50'   |  Distance 15,30 km   |   Difference in height + 1018 m    |  Difference in height -  490 m

>> Discover the trail map

>> Discover the Upper Ubaye